top of page

Belgian Bites


Belgium is, without a doubt, the number one place to indulge in all the different treats that lined almost every street in the great city of Brussels. It was weird how most of my favorite foods originated from this cute, little country: fries, chocolate truffles, and waffles!

Brussels also did not disappoint in the macaron (pictured on the right/above) and beer department. Colorful little pastries were arranged in beautiful assorted towers seen from the outside of shops and calling to the onlookers to stop and treat themselves (pictured on the left). Although the sugary meringue filled delicacy originated in France (our next European destination), they seemed to be all over Europe and enjoyed by tourists and locals alike.

As far as beer goes (and the age limit being 18 or younger everywhere we went - yay for me!), Brussels is home to Delirium Café, a famous pub that contains the largest assortment of beers in the world, more than 3,000 different flavors to give you an idea. I am not a beer drinker, but I had to try at least one while in Brussels to experience the interesting, world renown bar for myself and check it off my European bucket list.

This bucket list of mine happens to contain a lot of European foods I wish to try in Europe before I die. Some of the ones native to Belgium that I was able to check off on my family's 3-day stop here are listed (and bolded) below:

F***ch Fries: Did you know that fries originated in Belgium? Because I didn't until I got here. Since these crispy potato fingers didn't actually come from France, our tour guide in Brussels said it was like saying the f-word to call them "French Fries." So when we ordered them, we made sure to call them fries, or frites like the French speaking Belgians do (or even friet like the Dutch speaking do).

We made sure to get at least one order of fries (pictured on the right/above) from Fritland (pictured below). You won't see people eating this with ketchup in Belgium! Traditionally the fries are served with mayonnaise, which tastes a lot better and is better for you in Europe than in America. However, I thought they tasted just as good plain. My favorite part about eating this snack is that it came wrapped up in a cone of paper and resembled an ice cream cone. You then eat the fries with a baby fork, which I found out keeps your hands clean and makes for easy, convenient street food.

Authentic Liege Belgian Waffles: I obviously couldn't miss out on a Belgian Waffle (pictured below) while visiting where this lovely food came from! These mouth-watering treats were even better when accompanies with fresh whipped cream, fruit, and Nutella (of course Nutella - I'm in Europe). And, the waffle trucks at home in Gilbert that claim to have the best waffles cannot even come close to comparing to Belgium's waffle masterpiece. Not to mention, they are way cheaper here, like a third of the price cheaper. I had at least one everyday I spent exploring Brussels. I even tried one out of a vending machine.

Chocolate: Brussels is a chocoholic's dream! Alongside the waffles, macarons, fries, and other delicious pastries, chocolates added to the sugary temptations that seemed to follow me around the city. Mary (pictured on the left/above) sells gourmet chocolates and has been doing so for almost a full century now. It is one of the few chocolatiers that originated and is only found Belgium. All other chocolates and chocolate shops, for the most part, can be found elsewhere in other countries.

I tried a truffette (pictured below), dark chocolate mousse, and it tasted heavenly. Funny story, I actually got in trouble by the shop owner for taking this picture... Don't worry, I won't steal your recipe! I just want to remember the chocolaty goodness.

It's no wonder why I enjoyed eating my way through Brussels so much. I hope I can someday return to experience all of this at least one more time before I die and relive this bucket list accomplishment.

All pictures were taken on my Nikon D3100 with my Sigma 18-250mm.

Related Posts

See All
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
Related Posts:
bottom of page