top of page

The Top 5 Things You Need To Do While In Santorini


Santorini

If you've been following along on this adventure for a while, then you'll remember that I've been to Santorini before almost 2 years ago now when I was studying abroad in Athens, Greece. On that trip, I had a little more than 48 hours to explore the island. This time I only had about 8! And to be honest, I did not have enough time on either trip to explore this beautiful island. (Click here to check out my blog post all about my 2016 weekend trip in Santorini.)

Regardless of my lack of time, here is my list of the...

Top 5 Things To Do While In Santorini:

...even if you're just there for a short 8 hours.

  1. Walk around one or both of the two most photographed towns in Santorini: Oia and Fira. The views are absolutely gorgeous so don't forget your camera. And you might as well do some souvenir shopping while you're enjoying your stroll through the city.

  2. Eat a gyro... or two! And while you're at it, go ahead and drink a Mythos beer for good measure.

  3. Experience the infamous fish foot spa, and go ahead and let your tired feet get kissed and tickeled by the mouths of tiny little fish.

  4. It's hot in the summer, so take a dip in the Aegean Sea - there's an awesome spot right below Oia to cliff jump! Just ask any of the locals how to get there.

  5. Take time to admire the amazing blue and white Greek churches. Cover up your shoulders and knees, take off your hat, and step inside to check out these working churches in all of their Greek glory - they're incredible!

Here are a few of my favorite shots and stops on my 8-hour excursion in Santorini.

Nothing beats a gorgeous Santorini view! We spent most of the day appreciating the picture-perfect sights.

What To Wear In Santorini

In Santorini during the summer? Here's what to wear:

I recommend wearing something light and breezy. While our cruise ship was docked at this iconic island, I decided to wear an airy non-cotton sundress with my bathing suit underneath. (The perfect combo for this naturally sweaty girl!)

I even wore my "Santorini" hat to complete my tourist look. (Honestly, I always look like a tourist in Europe while I'm wearing my big DSLR camera around my neck.) This outfit ended up being the perfect choice for me, because like I said, it gets H-O-T in Santorini!

Santorini Drinks

Stay cool while strolling around the town, and pick up a drink from the closest convenient store. In Europe, you're allowed to walk around with an open alcohol container. Woohoo party!

Jewel Of The Seas

And here's a cool cliff-view shot of our cruise ship Right behind it is a little tiny island in the center of this giant island volcano that erupted quite abruptly a long time ago! It is even rumored that this is the very volcano that buried the lost city of Atlantis... how cool is that??? I talk about this epic volcano more in my last Santorini blog post, if you are interested in reading more.

Santorini

If Santorini isn't on your bucket list yet, it definitely needs to be! It is one of my favorite vacation spots. This little island has so much character. I'll never stop wanting to explore more and more of it.

Join the adventure, and signup for my monthly emails today! (I promise you won't be spammed with emails.)

Related Posts

See All
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
Related Posts:
bottom of page