top of page

All Moved In and Ready to Go


Welcome to my little home away from home while I'm in Greece. I managed to fit 2 semesters, nearly 9 months, worth of clothes, school supplies, and living necessities into 2 large suitcases and 2 carry-ons, which are now all packed away in closets and drawers. (Shoutout to my dad for making the journey with me and being my personal pack mule and travel guide!)

As you can see behind me, the walls are pretty bare (pictured below). My next step is to decorate with the pictures I brought from home and hopefully some cheap Greek decorations I find around town. I need to make it as homey as possible since I'm 6739.7 miles away from my real home.

I live in a small room with two beds by myself. I'm supposed to have a roommate but there's two vacant rooms in my apartment so she moved into one of those. We still refer to each other as "roomies" though. The whole suite comes complete with a kitchen, living room, and several bathrooms which I share with 6 other girls from all over the US - I've loved getting to know them so far! I also have a balcony outside my door that wraps around the entire floor.

I'm in a beautiful little area of Athens called Aghia Paraskevi. It's very green and lively and my apartment is only a couple blocks from the school as well as a lot of delicious restaurants and fun shops. I'm starting to feel more independent and confident in this part of town which is good since classes start tomorrow!

Here's a picture of me moving into my apartment for the year! This was taken by my dad. It's definitely shorts weather here... It's sunny with a high of up to 90 degrees.

This is my Greek student ID to Deree - The American College of Greece. I'm excited for my photography class, my 3 psychology classes, and my Greek language class.

I got a t-shirt as a welcome gift and a list of activities to do, like touring the central part of Athens as well as the neighborhood I live in, before classes start!

Here's my room: two slightly uncomfortable twin-sized beds in a small cozy space. However, the air conditioning unit in my room makes up for the stiff mattress (I'm used to not having AC in Europe). There's a wall of cabinets and drawers on the side opposite of the beds.

This is the view from the balcony right outside my shared living/dining room! My roommates and I love hanging out in the comfy chairs on the balcony and watching the sunset. We live on the top floor so we have the best view out of everyone in our building! This is a perfect example of why falling in love with this place is coming so naturally to me.

Have suggestions for what I should write about? Comment below!

Related Posts

See All
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
Related Posts:
bottom of page