top of page

On The Streets of Flagstaff: Architecture and Street Photography 101


Flagstaff Street Photography

During my last few weeks of my Black and White Location Photography class, my professor - Amy Horn - took us on several walking field trips downtown to capture architecture and street images in order to practice our skills in preparation for our final project.

I wouldn't call me an architecture or street photography expert by any means, but I would like to share with you a little of what I learned over the course of this semester!

Defined:

For those of you who don't know...

Architecture photography

"Architectural photography is commonly described as the form of photography that uses buildings and other structures as subjects." (Retrieved from "Architecture Photography 101")

Flagstaff Architecture Photography

Street photography

"A genre that records everyday life in a public place. The very publicness of the setting enables the photographer to take candid pictures of strangers, often without their knowledge. Street photographers do not necessarily have a social purpose in mind, but they prefer to isolate and capture moments which might otherwise go unnoticed." (Retrieved from Encyclopedia Britannica)

Flagstaff Street Photography

Tips:

Here are some helpful tips for photographers looking into capturing these types of photographs in your own town.

Architecture

  1. Use a wide-angle lens

  2. Shoot inside/through windows

  3. Tell a story

  4. Clouds can make or break a photo

  5. Find a unique angle

  6. Contrast is key - look for shadows and texture

Flagstaff Architecture Photography

Street (courtesy of Amy Horn)

  1. Shoot fast - use Aperture Priority

  2. Take the shot, don't wait for permission

  3. Get close

  4. Shoot from the hip

  5. Let the subject come to you

  6. Think outside the box

  7. Stake out a scene

  8. Go alone or with 1 other person

I personally was not great at shooting close and violating people's personal bubbles so I chose to go with the "Stake out a scene" then wait... and then wait some more... approach! Which is why you'll see a lot of far away or full-body shots within my street photos. I guess I'm just not cut out to be a street photographer - go figure!

Flagstaff Street Photography

Side note to ease everyone's assumptions:

This man is holding a cigarette, not flipping off the camera.

I hope you appreciated this blog post and really learned something new! Here is some more of my Flagstaff architecture and street photography. Enjoy!

Flagstaff Street Photography
Flagstaff Architecture Photography
Flagstaff Architecture Photography

Feel free to contact me if you had any questions or comments about architecture and/or street photography!

Related Posts

See All
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
Related Posts:
bottom of page