top of page

2018 Summer Plans: Travel, Photography, & More!


As summer 2018 quickly approaches (only 9 days left!), I feel it's time to set some goals for myself as I take a break from school and am able to focus on growing and developing my business, skills, and creativity!

First Things, First:

There are a couple areas I'd like to focus on developing first: travel photography and getting published.

I will be revisiting my favorite country this summer - Greece - as well as some other countries and fun destinations! I plan on traveling to Italy, Germany, Austria, and Myrtle Beach this summer as well as hopefully some other (preferably beachy) states. This gives me a great opportunity to work on developing my travel photography skills.

On top of this, I'd like to make a dent in editing the thousands and thousands of images I captured while studying abroad in Europe for a year. My goal is to process, edit, and blog about all of the places I visited and experiences I had. Better late than never, right?

And since I will be editing and processing all of these travel images, why not try to get them published? I will be looking into Arizona and travel magazines (i.e. Southwest and American Airlines) to submit my work to in hopes of getting published this summer for some of my more recent shoots. (Side note: I have been featured in Arizona Tribune and a local West Virginia magazine as well as published by Hertz Rent A Car and Thrifty; however, I'd like to build this credibility even more by continuing to be published.)

Scary Desktop

Let's Get Technical:

On the less creative, and more technical side of the business that is also my hobby, I have a few things I'd like to check off my summer to-do list such as:

  • Backing up my back up

  • Reorganizing my photos and laptop in general (my desktop is a mess right now, and it scares me - I mean just look at it!)

  • Rebranding - I have a friend helping me out with this now, and I'm really excited!

  • Editing old photos and videos I neglected editing at the time

  • Rebuilding my website from scratch & launching it this summer (possibly on Wordpress, but I'm open to suggestions)

  • Catching up on blogging my favorite photos, trips, stories, and client sessions

  • Summer school! (AKA, podcasts, YouTube tutorials, webinars - anything to inspire and motivate me during my "down season")

Possible Photoshoot Ideas...

And if I find time, I will revisit my Summer [Photography] Bucket List from last year where I listed a bunch of personal projects I would be interested in shooting. I was able to shoot a few of these projects last summer, like at a lake and in the desert, but there are still so many more from this list I'd like to shoot for the first time or re-shoot!

Summer [Photography] Bucket List

Related Posts

See All
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
Related Posts:
bottom of page