top of page

Time-Lapse Rookie


Talk about out of my comfort zone! I am not much of a videographer, and I've never tried to do it through the art of photography before this last semester at NAU.

I took a scientific photography class where I was constantly pushed out of my comfort zone in the realm of photography. I learned so much about astrophotography, micrography, and other new styles I had never even thought about trying before.

Time-lapse photography was one of these styles that was completely new to me! A time lapse is a video composed of anywhere from 750 to 10,000 (or more) images taken in a specific order to create a sequence. Many phones, Gopros, and cameras now have this function built in so I'm sure you're not a stranger to the concept.

Above is the first time lapse I created of one of my favorite little spots in Flagstaff. It's absolutely gorgeous in the summer months while the wildflowers are still in bloom (check out more images from this area by clicking here).

Below is the second time lapse I've ever made. In this one, I was supposed to learn how to make a smooth transition from day to twilight using specific edits in Premiere Pro.

In this next time lapse I was trying to show how the wind effects different plants in Flagstaff during the fall.

And so far my favorite one I've made has to be the time lapse of the sand castle my boyfriend, Jonah, and I made in Rocky Point, Mexico. Check it out!

I also did these next two just for fun real quick. I used the photos I took for star trails during the astrophotography unit of my class. I think they'd be a lot cooler set to music, but like I said, I just threw them together real fast to see what they would look like as a time lapse. The first time lapse was taken in Flagstaff and the second in Phoenix.

These videos are not as amazing or exciting as I'd like them to be, but it was definitely a cool learning experience for me! I was frustrated throughout the whole process, but I'm content with the results of my first real go at time-lapse photography.

I'd love to hear what you think! Shoot me an email, and share your thoughts with me.

Related Posts

See All
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
Related Posts:
bottom of page